White Berries

whiteberries1, originally uploaded by katiemuffett.

Lots to post today!

I’ve had two roles of slide film to scan in, all from beautiful Kingley Vale near where I used to live. It’s part dark, thriving yew forest and misty hills topped with burial mounds.

As a devotee of Antony & the Johnsons, it could seem strange that I haven’t done an entry with him before now. The simple and embarrassing fact is that I get choked up when I listen to him, and therefore have to choose my moments wisely.

Setting this particular track (‘What Can I Do?’) to the image of tiny white berries against a blackened DOF was an ideal combination for me. This will sound incredibly corny, but it evokes light and hope rising out of darkness and despair.

Aw, I’m always corny.

Image Soundtrack: ‘What Can I do?’ by Antony & the Johnsons (feat. Rufus Wainwright)

This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White Berries

  1. nursemyra says:

    I came here via Bruce hood’s blog. your photos are amazing Katie. I’m a big Antony fan too. Saw him perform live once and was really blown away

    • katiemuffett says:

      Thanks so much for your comment nursemyra, I’m sorry I didn’t respond sooner. I’ve had a bit of an embargo on my blog because I can’t afford decent film. Just being in a bit of a grump, really!

      I am very jealous of you seeing Antony live. I wanted to see his concerts with the LSO but I would literally sob my way through hearing his beautiful voice in person. His new album is a bit more upbeat, but ‘I am a Bird Now’ has me in tears every time.

Leave a Reply

