Heaven offers nothing that a mercenary soul can desire

berries, originally uploaded by katiemuffett.

The title is a quote from C.S. Lewis’ The Problem of Pain, which is in my regular rotation of ‘currently reading’ books. It deals with *the* question that atheists and agnostics raise when discussing their loss of faith. How can a good God allow bad things to happen?

A few readers may already know that I have a very deep and very private relationship with faith and the pursuit of Truth, but am not devoted to any one ‘religion’. I also love science and engage in heated skepticism on occasion.

Recently I have been attending a church here in New York, primarily because of the good people and my big sister who work there. I want to point to a post in their Bible discussion group’s blog that deals with this topic in particular. I will be attending these discussions for the first time and the reading material has turned me on to C.S. Lewis again.

The quote above reminded me of this photo as it has always been sidelined in my popular shots, mainly because the colours are so mellow and the subject is so humbly captured. Yet I know how dearly I lined up the shot and with what care I held my focus in the fading light. These tiny berries – hidden in a random hedge by the city walls – seem to offer me something that others don’t quite seem to appreciate.

Image Soundtrack: ‘Election by Adoration’ by Hans Zimmer from the Angels & Demons OST

This entry was posted in Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

